Remove Desktop Shortcuts upon update default
Lets you specify the default behavior for all channels for creating a desktop shortcut when Microsoft Edge is installed. If you set this policy to "Force delete system-level Desktop Shortcuts" (1), any existing system-level Microsoft Edge desktop shortcuts will be deleted when the browser updates or the machine reboots. If you set this policy to "Force delete system-level and user-level Desktop Shortcuts" (2), any existing system-level Microsoft Edge desktop shortcuts will be deleted when the browser updates or the machine reboots and any existing user-level desktop shortcuts will be deleted when the browser updates. This includes user-level desktop shortcuts that users might have made themselves. If you don't configure this policy or disable it (0), nothing will happen to existing Microsoft Edge desktop shortcuts.
Policy Details
- Policy Name
- Pol_DefaultRemoveDesktopShortcut
- Registry Key
- Software\Policies\Microsoft\EdgeUpdate
- Value Name
- RemoveDesktopShortcutDefault
- Supported On
- Microsoft Edge Update 1.3.155.1 and later
- Available Languages
- en-us
Configuration Elements
Part_RemoveDesktopShortcut
Type: enum
- 1 Force delete system-level Desktop Shortcuts
- 2 Force delete system-level and user-level Desktop Shortcuts
- 0 Prevent Desktop Shortcut creation on install