ADMX Viewer
Microsoft.Policies.OneDriveNGSC• Machine

Prevent users from moving their Windows known folders to OneDrive

This setting prevents users from moving their Documents, Pictures, and Desktop folders to any OneDrive for Business account. Note: Moving known folders to personal OneDrive accounts is already blocked on domain-joined PCs. If you enable this setting, users won't be prompted with the "Set up protection of important folders" window, and the "Start protection" command will be disabled. If the user has already moved their known folders, the files in those folders will remain in OneDrive. To redirect the known folders back to the user's device, please select "No." This setting will not take effect if you enable "Prompt users to move Windows known folders to OneDrive" or "Silently move Windows known folders to OneDrive." If you disable or do not configure this setting, users can choose to move their known folders.

Policy Details

Policy Name
BlockKnownFolderMove
Registry Key
SOFTWARE\Policies\Microsoft\OneDrive
Supported On
At least Windows Server 2008 R2 or Windows 7
Available Languages
en-us

Configuration Elements

For users who have already moved their known folders, would you like to keep those folders redirected to OneDrive:

Type: enum

Allowed Values
  • 1 Yes
  • 2 No