ADMX Viewer
Microsoft.Policies.UserProfiles• Machine

Do not forcefully unload the users registry at user logoff

This policy setting controls whether Windows forcefully unloads the user's registry at logoff, even if there are open handles to the per-user registry keys. Note: This policy setting should only be used for cases where you may be running into application compatibility issues due to this specific Windows behavior. It is not recommended to enable this policy by default as it may prevent users from getting an updated version of their roaming user profile. If you enable this policy setting, Windows will not forcefully unload the users registry at logoff, but will unload the registry when all open handles to the per-user registry keys are closed. If you disable or do not configure this policy setting, Windows will always unload the users registry at logoff, even if there are any open handles to the per-user registry keys at user logoff.

Policy Details

Policy Name
DontForceUnloadHive
Registry Key
Software\Policies\Microsoft\Windows\System
Value Name
DisableForceUnload
Supported On
At least Windows Vista
OMA-URI (CSP)
ADMX_UserProfiles/DontForceUnloadHive
OS Build Version:10.0.22000, 10.0.19043.1202, 10.0.19042.1202, 10.0.19041.1202
CSP Version:10.0
Conflict Resolution:LastWrite
Allowed Editions:
EnterpriseEnterprise NProfessionalProfessional NEnterprise EvaluationEnterprise N EvaluationEducationEducation NEnterprise SEnterprise S NEnterprise S EvaluationEnterprise S N EvaluationHolographic BusinessPro Single LanguagePro ChinaPro WorkstationPro Workstation NPro For EducationPro For Education NEnterprisegEnterprisegnServerrdshIotenterpriseIotenterprisesCloudeditionnCloudeditionIotenterpriseskIotenterpriseseval
Available Languages
en-us

Supported Values

Simple Enabled/Disabled toggle controlling whether the value exists under the configured registry key.